Begun in 1595 by Robert Smythson, one of England’s foremost Elizabethan Architects, Doddington Hall was completed in 1600 and has never been sold or cleared out since. An example of a fine late Elizabethan Mansion, it is still a lived-in and much loved family home, alive with history and interest.
Originally built for Thomas Tailor, the registrar to the Bishop of Lincoln, Doddington’s mellow brick exterior with its walled courtyards has barely changed. However, in 1749, the Hall was inherited by John Delaval of Seaton Delaval in Northumberland and he carried out an extensive internal re-decoration, incorporating the light & elegant Georgian style still seen today.
In 1830 Colonel George Jarvis inherited the house from Sarah Gunman, heiress to the property, and the present owners are direct descendants of his.
Over 400 years of unbroken family occupation has resulted in fascinating collections of furniture, weaponry, paintings, ceramics, textiles, household objects, porcelain and a wealth of amusing stories all to be found in and around Doddington Hall.
A visit to Doddington offers a unique insight into family life through the ages and the challenges of looking after such an estate in the 21st century.
The Hall reopens on Easter Sunday 1 April 2018. Click here for opening times.